Skip to main content

Aggarwal Scholarship

An anonymous donor has established a $50,000 J.K. Aggarwal Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Electrical & Computer Engineering. The annual scholarship was awarded to ECE senior, David Lu.

The International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) also has a J.K. Aggarwal Prize. The prize recipient is a young scientist, under the age of 40 who has made a substantial contribution to a field that is relevant to the IAPR community and whose research work has had a major impact on the field. The 2008 award was presented to Professor Song-Chun Zhu of UCLA for fundamental and pioneering contributions to a unified foundation for visual pattern conceptualization, modeling, learning, and inference with applications in computer vision and pattern recognition. The 2006 recipient was Professor Bernhard Schölkopf of the Max Plank Institute for Biological Cybernetics in Tubingen, Germany.

Dr. Aggarwal's distinguished career includes extensive contributions to the field of pattern recognition, the 2004 King-Sun Fu Prize of the International Association for Pattern Recognition, the 2005 IEEE Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award, and the 2007 Okawa Prize of the Okawa Foundation of Japan for Information and Telecommunications.