Skip to main content


Alex Dimakis

Alex Dimakis to Serve on AI Commission of the US Chamber of Commerce

Alex Dimakis of Texas ECE has been invited to serve as a member of the AI Commission of the US Chamber of Commerce.
Hao Chen

Hao Chen Receives NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship

Hao Chen, a PhD student in Texas ECE, has received an NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship for his work on "Developing next-generation VLSI physical synthesis tools capable of generating sign-off quality layouts in advanced manufacturing nodes, particularly in analog/mixed-signal circuits."
David Pan

David Z. Pan Named ACM Fellow

David Z. Pan, professor in Texas ECE, has been named a Fellow of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) for 2021. Dr. Pan becomes the fifth ACM Fellow among current Texas ECE faculty.
Alex Hanson

Alex Hanson Receives Air Force Young Investigator Research Program Award

Alex Hanson of Texas ECE has been named a recipient of a Young Investigator Research Program (YIP) award from The Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) for his work on "Compact Pulsed Power Systems Using GaN Devices and High-Efficiency Magnetic Structures."

That's a Moiré: Researchers Reveal New Properties of Twisted, Layered, Graphene Material

An international team led by researchers from The University of Texas at Austin has discovered new and exotic properties of graphene when it is manipulated in such a way to become a moiré material.

David Z. Pan and Team Win IEEE TCAD Best Paper Award

"DREAMPlace: Deep Learning Toolkit-Enabled GPU Acceleration for Modern VLSI Placement" by Dr. David Z. Pan, students, alumni, and collaborators, was selected as winner of the 2021 IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award.
Infrared Detector

New Ultra-thin Infrared Detector Shows Vast Improvement Over Existing Tech

A group of Texas Engineers created an infrared detector that represents a major step forward compared to what's on the market today. These devices are important for sensing trace amounts of gasses to determine air quality, and they have the potential to improve free-space communication, which involves transmitting data using light through open air instead of fiber-optic cable. 
NAI Fellows 2021

Banerjee, Dodabalapur, and Swartzlander Named Fellows of the National Academy of Inventors

Sanjay Banerjee, Ananth Dodabalapur, and Earl Swartzlander, professors in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, have been selected as fellows of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), a prestigious distinction that has been awarded to a select group of 164 academic innovators around the world for 2021.
Alan Bovik

Alan Bovik Awarded 2022 IEEE Edison Medal

Prof. Alan Bovik of Texas ECE has been named the recipient of the 2022 Edison Medal from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for "pioneering high-impact scientific and engineering contributions leading to the perceptually optimized global streaming and sharing of visual media.” 
IEEE Fellows

Bank, Dimakis, and Vishwanath Elevated to IEEE Fellow

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation. Texas ECE now has 33 faculty who have been elevated to IEEE Fellow.